Teaching Kids to knit, and knitting continental

I’ve taken up a couple challenges lately.

Today, like most days, my boys wanted to learn how to knit, Little Guy has his stitches cast on already, in bright orange yarn, on 4.5mm needles, we average a row each time we pull it out, before he gets bored, it is about 1.5″ long now, plain garter stitch, I use the simple, in, around, through, I know through isn’t the right word for what you do, but it’s what stuck, off never did. We are at a stage where he can do it, when my hands are over his, or 3-4 sts in the middle of the row on his own, before he has trouble again. He has learned to pick up his dropped stitches, when his needle falls out, too.

I just cast on for little man today, I thought he was too young, but after showing him two rows, I handed him the needles, and put the yarn over his finger, and through his fist. he lacks any kind of confidence in what he is doing, while knitting, I can tell, because, when I hold my hands lightly over his for in, and off, and take my hand off his for him to wrap the yarn, he can do it no problem. Ok, well he does have one problem, he wants to wrap the yarn backwards, so I have to remind him to wrap it the other way.
I turned to help little guy with a problem he was having, handing little man his needles to hold on to, and he kept going, I’m not sure if he actually managed a proper stitch, while I was turned around, but he did slip two stitches knit-wise. I’m quite proud, baby girl wanted in on the action too, but I had to pass her off to daddy while I gave the boys some quality time, she’s not even two yet, after-all.

And while I’m working on my other knitting projects, test knitting, running my own test, and writing/grading my pattern, I am also starting to teach myself to knit continental, well, ok, to be honest, I’m starting with purling, not sure why, it just feels easier, and I don’t think it’s easy at all, it’s really really hard, it goes against my muscle memory, which is English style.
When I do knit continental, it will be lever style, I think, I learned to knit left handed this way, and it is very similar to crochet, when done left handed. We shall see, once I learn knit and purl continental, maybe I’ll be able to figure out purling left handed.

Since this is all boring, without pictures, here is one, shh, it’s from my latest test knit.

20120715-194704.jpg

6 thoughts on “Teaching Kids to knit, and knitting continental

  1. I’d like to teach my son to knit eventually, but he’s only two and a half. What age are yours?

    • The boys are 4 and 5 with fall birthdays, they are just a bit younger than I my first memories of knitting my garter stitch strip, with my Oma, I was about 8 when I asked about purling.

      • I can’t even remember my first knitting experiences! I’m sure I was a bit older than that though. My wee man is very much a boy’s boy so I look forward to seeing if he’ll enjoy a bit of quiet knitting!

      • Yeah, mine are like that too. My earliest memory of knitting I already had a good inch of garter stitch, on the needles at Oma’s we also found knitting looms, I ended up sewing mine into spirals as I got older, and it got longer, and longer, I had a good sized bedside rug, when that came home from Oma’s house.

      • That is a lovely memory, I can remember making pom poms quite young so may try him with that first. Oma is Flemish isn’t it?

      • Dutch actually, and German, for all I know it’s Flemish too, lol.

Leave a Reply

