Raspberry Almond Coffee Cake

See, I promised, and am now delivering on that promise, here is a very yummy looking raspberry almond coffee cake. My cook tells me that it was yummy. We both wished that we still had raspberry plate scrapers to drizzle over the top of a piece.

20120708-165351.jpg

As is my usual task, when I find a recipe I think looks interesting, I have to start by multiplying the recipe, usually by 8. This time I used the sour cream to help me decide, I had 2L of sour cream and this made two of the large cake pans, that I’ve mentioned before. The pans I use at work are about two times the size of your standard cake pan. The comments on the original recipe said that it wasn’t quite enough for an 8″ pan, but doubling it made it very nice for a 9″. I learned long ago, that doubling a recipe for a 9″ pan gives me a nice standard size cake, so I multiply the recipe by 8 to make one large pan, this uses one liter, or 4 cups of sour cream. Since this was to be a snack, one large pan would have done it, but, I discovered we have an over abundance of sour cream, all ready to expire, so two pans it was, 16 times the original recipe.

We only had frozen raspberries, but that was ok, the comments had ideas on that, thaw and drain them first. Well, I don’t have time to thaw raspberries, so I toss them into a bowl, frozen, realize they look a little dirty, so run some water over them, to get the little flower petal things off, don’t tell me how crazy it was, it made me feel better. So I mixed up the batter, adding the wet to the dry, like the recipe calls for, though I always do it the other way around otherwise. It also says just till it’s wet, well that does not look good, I turn the mixer back on, add a splash of milk, and whip it, till it is a consistency I like, and call it good. Toss my raspberries with some brown sugar, and find I nearly have jam, they are mush, oops, oh well, moving on, I think. I spread out 1/2 the thick batter, into the bottoms of the pans, a well oiled hand helps here, or it will just stick, and not sit in the bottom. Then I divided the raspberries between the pans, and smoothed them out. I topped the cakes with the other half of the batter, smoothing it with an oiled hand again (I love the gloves we have to wear at work, and bought a box of the same nitrile gloves at the drug store, to use at home).
I then sprinkled sliced almonds on top, pressed them in, so they would be locked in place, and they were ready for the oven.
It wasn’t until I pulled them out, and saw this beauty, that I decided I had to blog about it, and took a picture, since I’m not supposed to have my phone at work.

And now the recipe, tell me what you think, I left the glaze off ours, to make it a touch more diabetic friendly. this is the original recipe, for an 8″ pan.

1cup flour
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp salt
1/2cup sour cream
2 Tbsp melted butter
1 tsp vanilla
1 egg

Filling:
1cup raspberries
3 Tbsp brown sugar

Topping:
1/4 cup sliced almonds

Glaze:
1/4 cup icing sugar
1 tsp milk
1/4 tsp vanilla

Leave a Reply

