What a day

Today was one of those days, you know the kind that starts out pretty decent, until one thing goes wrong, then all the poop hits the fan.
The morning was great, I got to hang out with my very clingy baby girl, but didn’t mind not getting much done, because I knew I had to work this evening, and I have been missing my kids like crazy lately. I also got to have coffee with one of the neighbors this morning, when she showed up at my door with her coffee mug, actually her and her daughter, L, were waiting on the front step when I came back from dropping off little man at play school.

The afternoon also started pretty well, when I arrived at work, I discovered that they had used styrofoam plates for lunch, as there was only hot water for the kitchen, this meant less dishes for me to put away, and more time to bake, which I love.
Here starts problem one: I went into the walk-in cooler, to get the margarine, and thought, wow, the kitchen must be cold today, as the cooler feels quite warm. Fast forward to my date squares in the oven, and I’m starting on some cookies, I am rather warm at this point, having been standing in front of the stove, I open the cooler, expecting a refreshing blast of cool air, only to be blasted in the face with hot air, the cooler is not working, thankfully, F, the happy one is working this week, and deals with our problem quickly.

#2: A short time later, our meat order arrives, it has become part of my job, when I work Wednesdays, which I don’t often enjoy, the freezer is very disorganized and if I catch the wrong maintenance man, J, he always complains about putting the order away, (remember I’m doing this most often now, usually with him, but I don’t ask unless I really need help) I cannot find the box cutter, but spot F nearby, and he was likely the last to use it, so I walk up to ask where it is, only to find, J is right there as well. Grump Grump Grump, and he won’t leave, even though I tell him I’ve got it under control.

#3: Just before supper, we are told our water is going to be shut off for an hr, so I rush to fill our pots, only for him to turn off the water late, and back on even later, leaving us well behind on our supper dishes, cups and silverware only, but still.

Rather amusing #4: around 7, just before we finish dishes, I comment to my coworker, that they must have moved our floor cleaner into the new storage room, near the kitchen, as I could see the plumber in there, and our mop pail was right there, we both smile, as it means not having to trek to the other end of the building for our mop pail, and water. So an hr later, the plumber has left, and I go to find my mop pail, only… It’s gone, along with the mop for the dining room, after spending 20 precious minutes looking for our pail, we steal one from another department, to get our job done, as well as we can.

#5: DH texts me, to let me know he will be late, the work truck broke down, it will be 1-130am before he gets home, as they were on a job in another town.

The good news, DH and his coworkers got paid to hike to the lake, and hang out waiting to be picked up, and watching the sun set over the water, he sent me a video, it really was pretty.

And, despite being behind at work, today, I have gotten a good start on my designing this week, I am almost up to the underarms.

Leave a Reply

