Test Knitting

I don’t know how I first found out about test knitting anymore, but it has made me more adventurous, my first colourwork was my first test knit, a hat designed by Holly Marie (Holly1223 on Ravelry) I have worked with her a few more times since, and absolutely love her designs. My last one for her was, Little Guy’s spiderman hat, which I did in Red and Blue.
My only finished crochet projects were also tests, but since then I’ve realised that I’m a poor crocheter, and would rather test knit, than crochet.
My first shawl was also the first test, where the pattern actually had a mistake, there was a symbol missing from the chart, and apparently my brain was able to put it together, kind of cool, if you ask me.
More recently I’ve been looking for harder test knits, or maybe they are just finding me, the last one came out way to small, I checked my gauge, but apparently my swatch lied, so it was back to square one, and I knit the pattern again, the pattern was well written, and I enjoyed it, except, it is sized too small, it still fits baby girl, but as a size smaller than I had intended.
Now, the challenging knit, a cotton sundress (I don’t know what I was thinking when I chose my yarn) it will be very cute, and summery, but I’m only giving myself a few days to do it, and it’s 100% cotton. Add to that, I’m using my US 8 needle, the biggest I can comfortably handle, and my hands are cramping really bad, the good news is, the designer is in no rush, so if I need to put it down and work one a lighter weight project, I can.

20120521-174856.jpg

20120521-175030.jpg

20120521-175049.jpg

Leave a Reply

